December 28, 2016

‘We the People’: Five Years of Online Petitions


This report is a collaborative effort based on the input and analysis of the following individuals. Find related reports online at

Primary researcher

Paul Hitlin, Senior Researcher      

Research team

Aaron Smith, Associate Director, Internet, Science, and Technology Research
Andrew Perrin, Research Assistant
Lee Rainie, Director, Internet, Science, and Technology Research
Claudia Deane, Vice President, Research                       

Editorial and graphic design

Margaret Porteus, Information Graphics Designer
Shannon Greenwood, Copy Editor             

Communications and web publishing      

Dana Page, Senior Communications Manager
Shannon Greenwood, Associate Digital Producer
Olivia O’Hea, Communications Assistant